Armenian Water and Sewerage Closed Joint Stock Company (AWSC) was established by the Ministry of Urban Development in 1997 and is the successor of “Water and Sewerage” CJSC state enterprise. The latter was founded by the Council of Ministers of the former Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic on January 14, 1971 on the base of water-sewerage state production department created in the system of Housing and Communal Services (which in 1990, according to the Law on Enterprises, was reorganized into the state enterprise of special significance and in 1994 into the “Armenian Water and Sewerage” state company).

Currently AWSC carries out its activities through 3 regional branches: North West, Center West and South, and in 17 sectors and 16 subsectors. The Company jointly with its subdivisions provides technical operation, exploitation, and maintenance of water supply and wastewater systems to 37 towns and 280 rural communities in Republic of Armenia.

The Company’s 100 percent shares belong to the state (State Committee of Water Economy of Republic of Armenia Ministry of Territorial Administration). Water supply and wastewater inter-communal networks are the property of the communities but on March 13, 1999, they were transferred to the Company for gratis utilization of the property based on the contracts concluded with communities. In Armenian regions the total number of communities served by Armenian Water and Sewerage Company is the following:

Total communities N
Aragatsotn marz 45
Armavir marz 33
Ararat marz 73
Gegharkunik marz 20
Lori marz 34
Kotayk marz 35
Shirak marz 38
Sjunik marz 21
Vayots Dzor marz 7
Tavush marz 13

AWSC provides services to 275 000 customers among which 190 000 on average use monthly services. Service tariffs (wholesale and retail tariffs are applied) are defined by the Public Services Regulatory Commission according to the Republic of Armenia Legislation.